Interview Times
Dikhyaa Mohanty

After analyzing the self-sworn affidavits of all 243 candidates running in the 28 Assembly constituencies that will see elections on May 13, Odisha Election Watch and the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) discovered that up to 70 (29%) of the candidates are crorepatis. Of the 28 candidates from the major parties, 25 (89%) have declared assets worth more than Rs 1 crore; 14 (50%) have disclosed assets from the BJP; 14 (50%) have declared assets from the INC; and 2 (18%) out of the 11 candidates from the AAP have declared assets worth more than Rs 1 crore.

The top 10 candidates with the highest assets are BJD candidate from Digapahandi Biplab Patro Rs 33.36 crore, BJD candidate from Gopalpur Bikram Kumar Panda Rs 15.94 crore,  BJP candidate from Dharamgarh Sudhir Ranjan Pattjoshi Rs 12.01 crore, BJD candidate from Junagarh Dibya Shankar Mishra Rs 11.89 crore, BJD candidate from Jeypore Indira Nanda Rs 11.46 crore, BJD candidate from Chikiti Chinmayananda Srirup Deb Rs 10.57 crore, Congress candidate from Paralakhemundi Bijay Kumar Patnaik Rs 9.41 crore, BJD candidate from Khariar Adhiraj Mohan Panigrahi Rs 7.94 crore, Congress candidate from Nuapada Sarat Pattanayak Rs 7.31 crore, and Congress candidate from Jeypore  Tara Prasad Bahinipati Rs 6.24 crore.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method