All re-contesting 60 MLAs in Uttarakhand, including some disqualified in last year’s political turmoil, are crorepatis, reveals a report.

The average assets of the 60 MLAs have increased by over ₹1.77 crore between 2012 and 2017.

The report prepared by Uttarakhand Election Watch (UKEW) and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) suggests that the affidavits of 60 MLAs who won in 2012 and are contesting again this time include 29 from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), 28 from Congress, 2 independents and 1 from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

The assets of Shailendra Mohan Singhal, contesting as BJP candidate from Jaspur, rose by over ₹32 crore from 2012 to 2017. In 2012 he won as a Congress candidate. Last year he was among the nine MLA’s who rebelled against chief minister Harish Rawat.

Besides Singhal, Congress candidate from Vikasnagar, Navprabhat’s assets swelled by 170% between 2012 and 2017. He was inducted into ministry couple of month’s back. BJP’s Rekha Arya is the third one contesting from Someswar, whose assets saw phenomenal rise by 90%.

Congress MLA from Dwarahata, Madan Bisht’s assets were ₹12 lakh in 2012 and it is ₹1 crore in 2017. Similarly Congress candidate Bheem Lal Arya had shown his assets worth ₹4 lakh in 2012 and the latest affidavit shows ₹ 54 lakh. Arya won on BJP ticket but later rebelled and joined Congress.

The assets of cabinet minister Dinesh Agarwal who is contesting from Dharampur, rose to ₹6 crore in 2017 from ₹ 1 crore in 2012.

Tourism minister Dinesh Dhane’s fortune grew from ₹41 lakh in 2012 to ₹3 crore in 2017. Health minister SS Negi’s assets grew from ₹80 lakh to ₹3 crore. Urban development minister Preetam Panwar and another minister HC Durgapal’s assets doubled from₹1 crore to ₹ 2 crore.

Higher education minister Indira Hridayesh assets dipped by 26 %, from ₹5 crore in 2012 to ₹4 crore in 2017.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method