It seems the “Gujarat Model” tops in the country when it comes to average increase in assets of 153 MPs re-elected in 2014 or in by-elections till 2018. While the increase in wealth for 153 MPs was 142%, the increase for nine BJP MPs from Gujarat was 186.47%, according to Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) data.

The average assets of 153 MPs increased by Rs 7.81 crore from Rs 5.50 crore in 2009 to Rs 13.32 crore in 2014. However, average assets of nine Gujarat BJP MPs increased by Rs 7.06 crore from Rs 3.78 crore in 2009 to Rs 10.85 crore in 2014.

The cumulative wealth of 153 MPs increased from Rs 841.5 crore to Rs 2037.96 crore. For nine Gujarat MPs, the cumulative wealth increased from Rs 34.10 crore to Rs 97.70 crore.
The top 10 MPs with maximum increase in wealth BJP MP Shatrughan Sinha, who was re-elected from Patna Sahib in 2014, registered maximum increase in wealth. From more than Rs 15 crore in 2009, his assets soared to Rs 131.74 crore in 2014.

He was followed by BJD Puri MP Pinaki Mishra at the second position. His wealth increased from Rs 29.69 crore to Rs 137.09 crore. At third position stands NCP Baramati MP Supriya Sule who wealth increased from Rs 51.53 crore to Rs 113.90 crore, an increase of Rs 62.37 crore.

Gujarat BJP’s Navsari MP C R Patil stands at fourth position. His wealth increased from Rs 24.20 crore to Rs 74.47 crore, a whopping increase of 208% or Rs 50.26 crore.

Looking at party affiliations, there are four BJP and 2 NCP MPs in this list. Congress, TDP, BJD and SAD have one MP each. 

9 Gujarat MPs outdo 153 peers of other states

How Guj BJP MPs fared

Navsari MP tops the list with assets of Rs 74.47 crore in 2014. He is followed by Gandhinagar MP L K Advani whose assets increased by Rs 4.03 crore from Rs 3.55 crore in 2009 to Rs 7.59 crore in 2014.

Amreli MP Naran Kachhadiya’s wealth increased by Rs 2.94 crore from Rs 47.48 lakh to Rs 3.41 crore. Chhota Udepur MP Ramsing Rathwa’s assets increased by Rs 2.92 crore from Rs 1.05 crore in 2009 to Rs 3.97 crore in 2014. There were five MPS who were “lakhpatis” in 2009, who five years later turned into “crorepatis”. They include: Naran Kachhadiya (Amreli), Darshana Jardosh (Surat), Prabhatsinh Chauhan (Panchamahals), Mansukh Vasava (Bharuch) and Jayshree Patel (Mehsana).

In terms of percentage increase, Naran Kachhadiya registered 620% increase in wealth in five years. He was followed by Jayshree Patel (297%), Ramsing Rathwa (279%), C R Patil (208%).

Those whose wealth increased by less than 100% in five years are: Dr Kirit Solanki (Ahmedabad West, 30%) and Prabhatsinh Chauhan (Panchmahals, 44%).

MPs’ decrease in wealth All over India, there are six MPs whose wealth decreased in five years. They are Om Prakash Yadav (BJP, 27%), K V Thomas (INC, 21%), Arjun Charan Sethi (BJD, 39%), P Karunakaran (CPIM, 67%), Ninong Ering (INC, 16%) and Jagdambika Pal (BJP, 64%). However, there’s no MP from Gujarat whose wealth eroded in the same period. 


Political parties

Out of 153 MPs, the 72 MPs from BJP registered average asset increase of Rs 7.54 cr. INC’s 28 MP registered asset increase of 6.35 cr. The two NCP MPs registered highest increase in wealth of Rs 55.62 crore followed by two MPS of SAD (Rs 27.13 cr).

VIP MPs too made gains
Then Congress President and Raebareli MP Sonia Gandhi’s wealth increased from Rs 1.37 crore to Rs 9.28 crore (573%). Amethi MP Rahul Gandhi’s assets increased from Rs 2.32 crore to Rs 9.42 crore (304%); BJP MP Sushma Swaraj Rs 7.35 crore to Rs 17.55 crore (139%); SP MP Mulayam Singh Yadav Rs 2.23 crore to Rs 15.96 crore (613%); Pilibhit BJP MP Maneka Gandhi Rs 17.56 crore to Rs 37.41 crore (113%); JDS MP H D Deve Gowda Rs 1.96 crore to Rs 4.27 crore (118%); Lucknow BJP MP Rajnath Singh Rs 1.49 crore to Rs 2.92 crore (96%; INC MP Shashi Tharoor Rs 21.24 crore to Rs 23.02 crore (8%). 


The rise in value of my assets is thanks to price appreciation of the properties due to increase in Jantri rates. I haven’t bought any new assets.

C R Patil, BJP MP, Navsari

I am not aware about the ADR report. I will have to check what properties I bought between 2009 and 2014. Lately, I haven’t bought anything.

Naran Kachhadiya, BJP MP, Amreli
© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method