New Delhi

As many as 44 MLAs in the 70-member Delhi Assembly are ‘crorepatis’ while the average assets of newly-elected lawmakers stood at Rs 6.29 crore, election watchdog Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) said on Wednesday.

In the 2013 polls, 51 ‘crorepati’ MLAs were elected to the assembly while the number was 47 in 2008. “This time 63% MLAs are crorepatis. The average asset of an MLA was estimated at Rs 6.29 crore against Rs 10.83 crore in 2013,” the ADR report said.

AAP’s Pramila Tokas who won from the RK Puram assembly constituency is the richest MLA with assets of more than Rs 87 crore.

Tokas is followed by AAP’s Uttam Nagar MLA Naresh Balyan who has an asset of Rs 58 crore. AAP’s Najafgarh MLA Kailash Gahlot and Mehrauli MLA Naresh Yadav have assets worth Rs 36 and Rs 27 crore respectively.

The ADR report said five AAP MLAs have not declared income tax returns -- Rakhi Birla (Mangolpuri), Sarita Singh (Rohtas Nagar), Praveen Kumar (Jangpura), Raju Dhingam (Trilokpuri) and Sandeep Kumar (Sultanpur Majra).

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method