Sixty candidates, including a minister and two formers ministers, in fray for the second phase of assembly polls inJharkhand on December 2 are facing criminal charges like rape, murder and communal disharmony, according to an analysis.

Analysing the self-sworn affidavits of all 223 candidates across 20 assembly constituencies in fray in this phase, the Association for Democratic Reforms said Ramlal Munda, an Independent candidate from Chakradharpur assembly constituency, declared that he is facing a case of rape under IPC section 376.

Congress candidate and current Jharkhand Agriculture Minister Banna Gupta (Jamshedpur West constituency) wrote in his affidavit that he is facing a charge related to injuring or defiling a place of worship under IPC section 295, it said.

Former minister and another Congress candidate from Jugsalai constituency Dulal Bhuiyan declared a case related to abduction with intent to secretly and wrongfully confine a person (IPC section 365), it said.

Bandhu Tirkey, a former minister and All India Trinamool Congress candidate from Mandar constituency, declared that he is facing a case of offence of word, gesture or act intended to insult the modesty of a woman (IPC Section-509), it said.

Former chief minister Madhu Koda (JBSP) and former minister Anosh Ekka (of Jharkhand Party) are on bail in connection with corruption cases. While Koda is contesting from Majhegaon, Ekka is fighting from Kolebira. Ekka's wife Menon Ekka (from Simdega) and Koda's wife Gita (from Jagannathpur) are also facing charges under IPC sections).

Shishir Kumar Singh Munda, an Independent candidate from Tamar constituency, declared an offence under IPC Section-498A (Husband or relative of husband of a woman subjecting her to cruelty).

Independents John Miran (from Chaibasa) and Ramlal Munda (Chakradharpur) and JMM's Paulus Surin (Torpa constituency) declared cases related to murder charges, it said.

As many as 10 candidates declared cases of attempt to murder - two each are fielded byBJP and JMM and one each from Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik), All India Trinamool Congress, Indian National Congress and three Independent candidates, it said.

Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Pardesi Lal Munda declared a charge related to making preparation to commit dacoity (IPC section –399) and assembling for purpose of charge related to making preparation to commit dacoity. Among the 60 candidates, 12 are from BJP and seven from Congress. There are also 14 Independents.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method