One india news
New Delhi

Aam Aadmi Party on Tuesday condemned the government's approval of an ordinance to protect convicted MPs and MLAs from facing immediate disqualification, saying it exposes the intentions of the political class which has "stooped" to a new low to save the corrupt. "The Cabinet passed an ordinance undoing the order of Supreme Court on convicted MPs and MLAs on Tuesday. The passing of this ordinance is not only a severe blow to democracy, but also exposes the intentions of the political class which has stooped to a new low to protect the corrupt," the party said in a statement. The Union Cabinet approved the Ordinance to protect convicted MPs and MLAs from facing immediate disqualification which in effect, negating a Supreme Court order. "AAP condemns the ordinance that has reversed the order of apex court which had debarred tainted politicians from contesting polls," it said, adding the people of the country were somewhat relieved when the apex court had ordered that no tainted politicians would contest elections. According to data available with Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), there are 161 (30 per cent) MPs in Lok Sabha who have a tainted track record, and 78 of them have serious charges against them. In Delhi Assembly, there are around 32 (46 per cent) MLAs with criminal cases, of which eight MLAs have serious cases against them. Congress and BJP had fielded 19 candidates each in the last assembly elections with criminal charges against them. "The ordinance that has been passed on Tuesday by the Cabinet has only betrayed the people again. On the other hand, the silence of Opposition parties, only proves that all parties are together in this decision," the statement said. Meanwhile, the party announced the names of two candidates for Rajender Nagar and Madipur assembly constituencies.

The party has fielded Vijender Garg, a former Congressman, as its candidate for Rajender Nagar constituency while Girish Soni would contest from Madipur. So far, the party as announced a total of 56 candidates for the upcoming Delhi Assembly elections.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method