IBN Live
New Delhi

New Delhi: In the first ever report card of incumbent MPs prepared by CNN-IBN and the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), performance of almost 2/3rd of the elected Lok Sabha members has been rated below average. Only 1.6 per cent MPs scored a distinction or a mark of 8 on 10.

The report is based on 30 governance criteria from employment to health services to water and electricity supply. The MPs have been marked on a scale of 10 in each parameter. While only 26 per cent MPs scored above 6 on 10, a majority of 59 per cent MPs got an average score between 4 and 6 on 10.

ALSO SEE Sachin Pilot tops MPs performance chart

For some political heavyweights the feedback is far from encouraging. Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj and Congress's Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath, both long serving MPs, don't rate too highly with their voters. Sushma's overall rating is 3.5 out of 10, much below the average MP rating of 5.61.

Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi scored very low in comparison with other Gandhis in Uttar Pradesh. Rahul with a score of 5.58 lags behind his cousin Varun Gandhi who scored 6.24 out of 10. Sonia Gandhi, MP from Rae Bareli scored 6.33 while Maneka Gandhi, BJP MP from Aonla, fared a shade better with 6.49 points on a scale of ten.

ALSO SEE Sushma Swaraj scores lowest on MPs performance card

MPs across Himachal Pradesh have performed the best in their constituencies, however, parliamentarians in Punjab have performed the worst in their constituencies.

A report card of the MPs may not affect their electability, but what becomes clear is that the voter's rising expectations is only adding to the disconnect between an MP and their constituents.

ALSO SEE Rate your MPs: Methodolgy of CNN-IBN-ADR survey

Here is the scorecard of MPs (Performance on a scale of 10):

Name: Sonia Gandhi

Party: Congress

Constituency: Rae Bareli

Rating: 6.33

Name: Rahul Gandhi

Party: Congress

Constituency: Amethi

Rating: 5.58

Name: Sachin Pilot

Party: Congress

Constituency: Ajmer

Rating: 8.00

Name: Kapil Sibal

Party: Congress

Constituency: Chandni Chowk

Rating: 6.40

Name: Kamal Nath

Party: Congress

Constituency: Chhindwara

Rating: 3.59

Name: Sushil Kumar Shinde

Party: Congress

Constituency: Solapur

Rating: 4.93

Name: Suresh KalmadiI

Party: Congress

Constituency: Pune

Rating: 4.92

Name: Supriya Sule

Party: NCP

Constituency: Baramati

Rating: 6.38

Name: Anurag Thakur

Party: BJP

Constituency: Hamirpur

Rating: 7.66

Name: Sushma Swaraj

Party: BJP

Constituency: Vidisha

Rating: 3.52

Name: Murli Manohar Joshi

Party: BJP

Constituency: Varanasi

Rating: 5.84

Name: Rajnath Singh

Party: BJP

Constituency: Ghaziabad

Rating: 4.53

Name: Anath Kumar

Party: BJP

Constituency: Bangalore (South)

Rating: 6.36

Name: Mulayam Singh Yadav

Party: SP

Constituency: Mainpuri

Rating: 4.79

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method