ETV Bharat
New Delhi

About 12 per cent of Rajya Sabha MPs are billionaires. The BJP has the maximum number of billionaries with assets worth more than Rs 100 crore followed by Congress and YSRCP, according to a report of the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) and National Election Watch (NEW).

According to the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), 12 per cent of the sitting MPs elected to the Rajya Sabha, including Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, are billionaires. ADR, along with National Election Watch (NEW), has released a report detailing the crimes and assets of 225 (out of 233 members) members of the Rajya Sabha. While there are 18 MPs from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana on this list, their total assets are said to be Rs 9,419 crore.

According to this report, among Rajya Sabha MPs five are from Andhra Pradesh (a total of 11 MPs), three are from Telangana (a total of seven MPs), three are from Maharashtra (out of 19), one is from Delhi (out of three MPs), two from Punjab ( out of seven MPs), one from Haryana (out of five MPs), two from Madhya Pradesh (a total of 11) MPs have declared their assets worth Rs 100 crore.

The total property value of seven MPs representing Telangana is Rs 5,596 crore, while the property value of 11 MPs representing Andhra Pradesh is Rs.3,823 crore. And the assets of 30 Rajya Sabha members from Uttar Pradesh are worth Rs. 1,941 crore in the report.

Out of a total of 225 members, 75 have disclosed that they have criminal cases against them. Also, 41 sitting members of the Rajya Sabha have serious criminal cases, while two more MPs have been charged with murder. It is said that there are cases related to harassment of women against four MPs. Among them, is AICC general secretary KC Venugopal against whom a rape case has been registered, according to the report.

It has stated in its affidavit that there are criminal cases against 23 out of 85 members of the BJP and 12 out of 30 members of Congress. According to the ADR report, there are criminal cases against 13 MPs from Trinamool Congress, five MPs nominated from RJD, four MPs from CPI, three from APNA, three from YSRCP, and two from NCP.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method