The Times of India
Umamaheswara Rao

About 45% of the Rajya Sabha MPs (5 out of 11) of Andhra Pradesh are billionaires, according to an analysis conducted by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR). This is the highest for any state in the country.

According to the ADR’s report, which is prepared based on election affidavits submitted with nomination papers, the 9 YSRCP Rajya Sabha MPs declared assets worth Rs 3561 crore – second highest for any political party in the country. The seven Bharat Rashtra Samithi (formerly known as Telangana Rashtra Samithi) parliamentarians accounted for Rs 5596 crore assets, clinching the top spot among all the political parties.

YSRCP MP Alla Ayodhya Rami Reddy with Rs 2577 crore assets is the second richest Rajya Sabha MP in the country, only trailing behind Dr Bandi Partha Saradhi from Telangana (Rs 5300 crore). Rami Reddy declared Rs 154 crore worth of liabilities. Noted industrialist Parimal Nathwani, the YSRCP MP who is representing Andhra Pradesh in Rajya Sabha, is the 9th richest RS MP in the country with Rs 396 crore assets.

BJP MP CM Ramesh declared Rs 258 crore assets, followed by Masthan Rao Beeda (Rs 243 crore), V Prabhakar Reddy (Rs 230 crore), Niranjan Reddy S (Rs 79 crore), etc.

The total assets of 11 MPs of Andhra Pradesh stood at Rs 3823 crore, giving AP second place in terms of states with highest total assets of Rajya Sabha sitting MPs. The neighbouring Telugu state Telangana outscored Andhra Pradesh with Rs 5596 crore assets of its Rajya Sabha MPs combined.

Kanakamedala Ravindra Kumar from TDP declared assets worth Rs 4 crore. YSRCP MP Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose announced assets worth Rs 32 lakh, the lowest among all the Rajya Sabha MPs from Andhra Pradesh.

About 36% of MPs (4 out of 11 MPs) of Andhra Pradesh from the Upper House declared criminal cases against them, including serious criminal cases against three MPs. Of these four MPs with criminal cases from Andhra Pradesh, three belong to YSRCP. The criteria chosen for serious criminal cases includes those offences which attract 5 years or more punishment, non-bailable offences, etc.

ADR and National Election Watch (NEW) have analysed and updated the criminal, financial and other background details of 225 out of 233 Rajya Sabha MPs. In the current Rajya Sabha, one seat is vacant. Three MPs (one each from Assam, Karnataka, and Puducherry) have not been analysed as their affidavits were unavailable and four seats of Jammu and Kashmir are undefined.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method