New Delhi

Fifty-five of the 57 newly elected Rajya Sabha MPs are crorepatis with NCP's Praful Patel being the richest with declared assets worth Rs 252.08 crore.

BJP's Anil Dave (Madhya Pradesh) is the poorest with assets at Rs 60.97 lakh. An analysis by private election watchdog Association for Democratic Rights (ADR), however, showed that Dave’s assets showed  the highest percentage growth in barely six years.

While he had declared Rs 2.75 lakh during 2010 elections for Rajya Sabha, the latest affidavit shows that there is an increase of 2,111 % in his assets.

The only other non-crorepati among the 57 is also from BJP -- Ram Kumar (Rajasthan), who had declared Rs 86.22 lakh worth assets.

Two lawyers -- Kapil Sibal (Congress) and Satish Chandra Mishra (BSP) -- follow Patel in wealth with Rs 212.53 crore and Rs 193 crore respectively.

The average assets value of the newly elected MPs is Rs 35.84 crore.

Among major parties, the average assets of BJP MPs is Rs 17.95 crore, Congress MPs is Rs 65.47 crore, SP MPs Rs 38.09 crore, AIADMK MPs Rs 6.79 crore and BJD MPs  Rs 14.98 crore.

On the crime scene, seven MPs have declared serious criminal cases, including cases related to attempt to murder, cheating and dishonestly inducing delivery of property and theft. Nineteen MPs have declared liabilities of Rs one crore and above.

Only three MPs have declared their educational qualification to be between Class 10-12 pass while 33 MPs have declared having an educational qualification of graduate or graduate professional. 

Eighteen MPs have declared themselves to be postgraduates while two MPs have doctorates. Four of the 57 are women, the analysis showed.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method