United News of India

Karnataka Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) on Monday in its report said all nine ministers, who took oath of office, have declared criminal cases against themselves.

Out of the nine ministers analysed, four have declared serious criminal cases against themselves, it said.

The report is based on the analysis of the self-sworn affidavits of nine out of 10 Ministers, including Siddaramaiah, the incumbent Karnataka Chief Minister, ADR said.
ADR was established in 1999 by a group of professors from the Indian Institute of Management (IIM) Ahmedabad. It has been conducting Election Watches for almost all state and parliament elections in collaboration with the National Election Watch.

It also conducts multiple projects aimed at increasing transparency and accountability in the political and electoral system of the country.

ADR said that it could not analyse KJ George’s case due to the unavailability of his clear and complete affidavits on the ECI website at the time of preparing the report.

Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar declared 19 criminal cases in an election affidavit filed with Election Commission of India, out of which 6 are serious cases, ADR said.

Siddaramaiah has declared 13 criminal cases against him, out of which six are serious cases, while Zameer Ahmad Khan declared 5 cases against him, it said.

KH Muniyappa has declared one serious criminal case against him and 4 other IPC cases and Priyank Kharge declared nine criminal cases against him, besides 37 IPC cases against him, ADR said.
MB Patil declared five criminal cases and 23 IPC cases against him, while Ramalinga Reddy declared 4 criminal cases and 17 IPC cases against him, it said.

Dr G Parameshwar declared 3 criminal cases and 11 IPC cases against him, while Satish Jarkiholi has 2 criminal cases and 10 IPC cases against him, ADR said.
ADR also highlighted the financial background of the nine ministers, saying all of them are crorepatis. It said, "The average assets of nine ministers analysed is Rs 229.27 crore."

The agency said Shivakumar is the richest as he has declared total assets worth Rs 1,413.80 crore, while AICC President Mallikarjun Kharge's son Priyank Kharge is the minister with the lowest declared total assets of Rs 6.83 crore.

Highlighting the ministers' education, ADR said, "Three ministers have declared their educational qualification to be between 8th pass and 12th pass, while six have declared having an educational qualification of graduate and above.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method