Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Pema Khandu, who on Wednesday took oath as chief minister, has assets worth more than Rs 163 crore.

This was revealed in a report prepared by Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) after analysing the self-sworn affidavits of all the 60 newly elected MLAs of the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly. It said all the information in this report has been taken from the website of the Election Commission of India.

Of the 60 newly elected MLAs, 56 (93 per cent) are crorepatis. Of 58 MLAs analysed during the 2014 Assembly polls, 50 (86 per cent) MLAs were crorepatis. The BJP won 41 seats of 60 seats.

Khandu’s total assets are Rs 16,350,58,142. He won from the Mukto constituency of Tawang district.

On the party-wise crorepati MLAs, 37 (90 per cent) out of 41 MLAs from the BJP, seven (100 per cent) out of seven MLAs from JDU, all five MLAs analysed from the NPP, all four legislators analysed from the Congress, two (100 per cent) out of two Independent MLAs and the lone MLA from the Peoples Party of Arunachal (PPA) have declared assets worth more than Rs 1 crore.

The average of assets per MLA in the 2019 Assembly elections is Rs 18.86 crore while in 2014, the average assets of 58 MLAs analysed was Rs 13.45 crore.

On the criminal background, of the 60 MLAs analysed, 10 (17 per cent) MLAs have declared criminal cases against themselves.

Of 58 MLAs analysed during the 2014 Assembly polls, five (9 per cent) MLAs had declared serious criminal cases against themselves.

On the partywise MLAs with criminal cases, five (12 per cent) of 41 MLAs from the BJP, three (60 per cent) out of five MLAs from NPP, one MLA of the Congress and one Independent have criminal cases in their affidavits.

Regarding educational background of MLAs, 21 (35 per cent) MLAs have declared their educational qualification to have cleared between class V and class XII, while 37 (62 per cent) MLAs have declared as graduate or above. There is one MLA who is illiterate.

There are only three (5 per cent) women MLAs in the present Assembly.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method