Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla is among the nine other candidates who are facing criminal charges out of over 200 total candidates in the electoral race across all 40 seats for the upcoming Mizoram assembly elections, claims a report by two civil society organizations-Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), an organization for electoral reforms and Mizoram Election Watch (MEW).

Mizo National Front (MNF) Chief and former chief minister Zoramthanga is another big name fighting with criminal charges, the report of the Mizoram Election Watch (MEW) and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) said.  It is based on affidavits filed to the Election Commission by the candidates.

The others facing criminal charges are V Malsawmtluanga (Independent), Vl Zahawma Chawngthu (BJP), Rasik Mohan Chakma (MNF), Lalduhpuii (BJP), James Thanghmingmawia (Congress) and R Lalthangliana (MNF). Though it is claimed that four out of nine are charged with serious criminal charges.

The state with 40 seats will go for polls on November 28, while a voting will take place on December 11 along with other State Assembly Elections.

The ruling Indian National Congress is banking on the large majority of 34 seats out of 40 with a vote share of44.6 percent, while Mizo National Front and Mizoram People’s Conference have 5 and a single seat respectively in the assembly.

This time Congress and Mizo National Front will contest on all 40 seats, while the Bhartiya Janta Party who has released its manifesto recently – will look to open its account with fielding its nominees on 39 seats out of 40.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method