The average assets of the re-contesting MLAs in the Karnataka assembly elections has gone up from Rs 26.92 crore in 2013 to Rs 44.24 crore in 2018. A report prepared by the Association for Democratic Reforms says that it has analysed the affidavits of 184 re-contesting MLAs.

The average assets of these 184 re-contesting MLAs from various parties including independent MLAs in 2013 was Rs 26.92 crores (Rs 26, 92, 34,672). The average assets of these 184 re-contesting MLAs in 2018 is Rs 44.24 crores (Rs. 44, 24, 28,949).

The average assets of these 184 re-contesting MLAs, between the Karnataka Elections of 2013 and 2018 has increased by Rs. 17.31 crores (Rs. 17,31,94,277). The average percentage increase in assets for these 184 re-contesting MLAs is 64 per cent, the report says.

Re-contesting MLAs who assets increased more than Rs 100 crore:

D K Shivakumar: The Congress candidate from Kanakapura has declared assets worth Rs 840 crore in 2018. In 2013, he declared assets worth Rs 251 crore. The asset increase in the past five years is Rs 588 crore at a percentage of 234.

N Nagaraju (M.T.B): The Congress candidate from Hosakote has assets worth Rs 1,015 crore. In 2013, the assets were worth Rs 470 crore and the increase in the past five years is Rs 545 crore. The percentage of increase stands at 116 per cent.

Shamanur Shivashankarappa: He is contesting from Davanagere South on a Congress ticket. In 2013, his assets were worth Rs 67 crore. In 2018 there has been a increase of 170 per cent in his assets. His assets in 2018 stand at Rs 183 crore with a Rs 115 crore increase in the past five years.

Priyakrishna: The Congress candidate from Govindarajanagar is the richest in the fray. He has assets worth Rs 1,020 crore in 2018. In 2013 his assets were worth Rs 910 crore. His assets have increased by Rs 109 crore at a percentage of 12.

R V Deshpande: Contesting from Haliyal on a Congress ticket, he was worth Rs 113 crore in 2013. This year his assets are worth Rs 215 crore. With an 89 per cent increase, his assets have gone up by Rs 101 crore.

Karnataka Assembly Election dates
Date of notification April 17
Last date to file nominations April 24
Last date to withdraw nominations April 27
Date of polling May 12
Date of counting May 15
© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method