The Hindu (Business Line)
New Delhi

A total of 10 members of the Rajya Sabha have not yet declared their interests in various companies, businesses and remuneration received from them, as required under the rules.

This information was given on Wednesday by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), which had filed an RTI application two years ago.

It is mandatory for every MP to fill these forms within 90 days from the date of taking the oath.

According to information received under the RTI Act, these 10 MPs include Congress party's Mr Ahmed Patel, Mr V. Hanumanth Rao, Mr P. Bhattacharya, Mr Husain Dalwai and Mr Shantaram Naik. Mr Derek O Brian, Mr Sukhendu Sekhar Roy and Mr Srinjoy Bose of the Trinamool Congress and Mr Sitaram Yechury of CPI(M) have also not submitted their forms, an ADR release said .

The application had sought details of the Register of Members' Interest form filled by MPs on information about their pecuniary interests received as directors of companies, regular remunerated activity, shareholding of controlling nature, paid consultancy and professional engagements, a release said.

The Central Information Commission, in its order dated June 3, had directed the Rajya Sabha Secretariat to make public the Register of Interest, but the secretariat had withheld the information saying it was being examined by the Ethics Committee, the Association said.

Following this, the CIC had sent a compliance notice to it on October 3.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method