The Times of India
New Delhi

Ten Rajya Sabha members have not declared their interests in various companies, businesses and remuneration received from them as required under rules. The Association for Democratic Reforms-that works on electoral reforms- had filed an RTI application two years ago, seeking details of the Register of Members' Interest form filled by MPs carrying information about their pecuniary interests received as directors of companies, regular remunerated activity, shareholding of controlling nature, paid consultancy and professional engagements.

It is mandatory for every MP to fill these forms within 90 days from the date of oath.

In a statement, the group claimed that as per information received by it under the RTI Act, 10 MPs, including Ahmed Patel, V Hanumanth Rao, P Bhattacharya, Husain Dalwai and Shantaram Naik of Congress, Derek O'Brien, Sukhendu Sekhar Roy and Srinjoy Bose of Trinamool Congress and Sitaram Yechury of CPI (M) have not submitted their forms.

The Central Information Commission, in its order dated June 3, had directed the Rajya Sabha secretariat to make public the register of Interest but the secretariat withheld the information saying it is being examined by the ethics committee. Seeing no action on part of the secretariat, CIC sent a compliance notice to it on October 3.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method