Zee News
New Delhi

New Delhi: Nearly 20 per cent of contestants in the third phase of Lok Sabha election have criminal cases against them, with Kerala topping the list among 13 states, while an AAP nominee has been charged with 28 serious offences. 

Besides, nine candidates have murder cases against them while 29 have declared cases of attempt to murder in their affidavits, revealed an analysis released today by National Election Watch (NEW) and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) for 14 states where election will be held on April 10. 

"Nine candidates have cases related to crime against women... Five candidates have declared cases related to assault or criminal force to women with intent to outrage her modesty (IPC section 359)," the report said. 

The analysis based on the affidavits filed by 1391 candidates said BJP outnumbered Congress in giving tickets to candidates with criminal backgrounds for the third phase. 

Of the 72 candidates announced by Congress, 21 have declared criminal cases while out of BJP's 80 candidates, 38 have criminal records. 

On the other hand, among the 78 candidates of AAP, 10 are facing "serious criminal cases", the analysis added. As far as the states are concerned, the analysis claimed that 29 per cent candidates in Kerala have criminal cases followed by Bihar (26 per cent) and Chhatisgarh (25 per cent). 

The lone Lakshadweep constituency has three out of six candidates have criminal records. According to the analysis, 29 per cent of the total candidates are 'crorepatis'. Industrialist and Congress candidate from Kurukshetra constituency in Haryana Naveen Jindal has assets to the tune of 308 crore. 

Union Minister Kamal Nath who is contesting from Chhindwara constituency in Madhya Pradesh has declared total assets of 206 crore.

Interestingly, three candidates have declared assets less than Rs 1000. Ramanuj Patel who is contesting from New Delhi constituency has only Rs 100 followed by Shaikh Jabbar Shaikh Usuf of Maharashtra and N K Biju of Kerala having Rs 500 and Rs 750 respectively to campaign.

Election will be held on April 10 in 92 seats in 12 states, Delhi and UTs of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh and Lakshwadeep

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method