TOI Mobile
New Delhi

New Delhi: Cabinet minister Ajay Maken,Congress leader Ambika Soni and MoS Pratik Prakashbapu Patil are among the 28 legislators who have voluntarily disclosed their income tax returns in response to an appeal by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR).
ADR,a thinktank that works on electoral reforms,had sought I-T returns of 42 MPs and MLAs that was turned down by the I-T department.The appeal is now being examined by the Central Information Commission (CIC) that is likely to take up the matter on April 16.
Among the others who have disclosed their I-T returns are former rail minister Dinesh Trivedi,former tourism minister Subodh Kant Sahay,BJD MP Tathagata Satapathy,Congress MP B K Handique,National Conference MP Mirza Mahboob Beg,RS MPs Arnavaz Aga and Mandagadde Rama Jois.
Among MLAs who have chosen to disclose their I-T returns are all from Rajasthan.These include Congresss Virendra Beniwal,Rajendra Pareek and Hema Ram Choudhry.
According to ADR reports the average increase in MPs assets between 2004 and 2009 was 289% or Rs 2.9 crore per MP within five years.Among MPs from Rajya Sabha,BJP has 14 (88%) out of 16 candidates who are crorepatis,followed by Congress with 12 (80%) crorepatis out of 15 candidates.
The organization has sought information citing among other arguments the issue of conflict of interest and probity in public life.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method