New Delhi

NEW DELHI: As many as 44 MLAs in the 70- member Delhi Assembly are 'crorepatis' while average assets of newly-elected lawmakers stood at Rs 6.29 crore, election watchdog Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) said today. 

In the 2013 polls, 51 'crorepati' MLAs were elected to the assembly while the number was 47 in 2008. 

"This time 63 per cent MLAs are crorepatis. The average asset of an MLA was estimated at Rs 6.29 crore against Rs 10.83 crore in 2013," the ADR report said. 

AAP's Pramila Tokas who won from the R K Puram assembly constituency is the richest MLA with assets of more than Rs 87 crore. 

Tokas is followed by AAP's Uttam Nagar MLA Naresh Balyan who has an asset of Rs 58 crore. AAP's Najafgarh MLA Kailash Gahlot and Mehrauli MLA Naresh Yadav have assets worth Rs 36 and 27 crore respectively. 

The ADR report said 5 AAP MLAs have not declared income tax returns -- Rakhi Birla(Mangolpuri), Sarita Singh (Rohtas Nagar), Praveen Kumar (Jangpura), Raju Dhingam (Trilokpuri) and Sandeep Kumar (Sultanpur Majra). 

ADR said the average assets of the 21 AAP MLAs, who were re-elected, has jumped by Rs 6.66 lakh. 

Tokas is also the MLA with highest liability at Rs 12 crore, the report said. 

Chhatarpur MLA Kartar Singh Tanwar follows Tokas with liability of more than Rs 9 crore while Najafgarh MLA Gehlot is third in the list with liabilities of more than 8 crore. 

The report states 11 MLAs have assets of more than Rs 10 crore.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method