The Times of India
New Delhi

NEW DELHI: Forty seven sitting legislators have communal violence cases pending against them according to data analyzed by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) on the basis of self-sworn affidavits. These legislators are charged with promoting enmity between religious groups or committing acts that are intended to outrage religious feelings or caused damage to a religious place.

Of the 47 legislators, 37 elected representatives, including 11 MPs and 26 MLAs, have been charged for promoting enmity between different religious groups or indulging in actions prejudicial to the maintenance of harmony under section 153A of the Indian Penal Code.

There are 12 legislators that have been charged with deliberate and malicious acts intended to outrage religious feelings under section 295A of the IPC while 8 sitting MPs and MLAs have been charged with destroying or damaging of a place of worship under section 295A of the IPC. Some legislators have been charged under more than one section of the IPC.

Among all parties, the largest number of legislators facing charges under these provisions are from BJP (14), followed by All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (5) and Samajwadi Party(4).

Statewise MPs and MLAs with cases under IPC 153A include 12 from Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh (10), followed by four legislators each from Bihar, Karnataka and three in Tamil Nadu.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method