ABP News
New Delhi

New Delhi: The Centre on Monday filed an affidavit before the Supreme Court in the black money case, naming three prominent businessmen including Pradip Burman, formerly of Dabur group. Goa-based miner Radha S Timblo and Bullion trader Pankaj Chimanlal Lodhya were the other two businessmen named in the affidavit.

Dabur has dismissed the black money charge against Pradip Burman. Pankaj Chimanlal denied having a foreign bank account and said he was shocked to find his name in the list. Radha S Timblo says we have to see the affidavit on what basis it has come in our name.

As per report prepared by Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR), between 2004-05 and 2011-12 Radha Timblo donated 9 times to BJP amounting to Rs 1.18 cr & thrice to Congress, amounting to Rs 65 lakhs in 7 years.

Read Association of Democratic Reforms’ report below:

An analysis of the donations made by individuals and corporates to the National Parties between FY 2004-05 and 2011-12 shows that Timblo Pvt Ltd, whose Managing Director is Radha Timblo, had donated nine times to BJP amounting to a total of Rs 1.18 crores and thrice to INC, amounting to a total of Rs 65 lakhs in seven years. Also, the BJP’s donations report for the FY 2011-12 lists the name of Chamanbhai Lodhiya from Rajkot who had donated a total of Rs 51 thousand to the party. Details of all donations made by Timblo Pvt Ltd and its representatives are listed below:

There are a total of 13 Electoral Trusts, only seven of which have been approved by the Central Bureau of Direct Taxes (CBDT) because they were formed after the CBDT rules governing Electoral Trusts were notified on the 31st January, 2013. The remaining six Electoral Trusts were already in existence before the CBDT rules for such Trusts were notified.


The seven Electoral Trusts formed after the CBDT rules came into effect are required to submit details of their donations to the ECI. The remaining six formed before the CBDT rules came into existence are not required to do so under the current dispensation. These six Electoral Trusts have donated more than Rs 105 crores to national parties between 2004-05 and 2011-12. Details of these donations are not known.

Since details of donors who made contributions to these six Electoral Trusts which were in existence before the CBDT rules are not known, it cannot be verified whether the funding of political parties through Electoral Trusts was not only a means of getting tax exemption but also a means to convert black money stashed in tax havens to white money in India.

Therefore details of donors of Rs 105 crores donated to political parties by the six Electoral Trusts which were formed before the CBDT rules came into existence, should also be disclosed. These Trusts include General Electoral Trust, Electoral Trust, Harmony Electoral Trust, Corporate Electoral Trust, Bharti Electoral Trust and Satya Electoral Trust.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method